Article

RATCLIFF INJURED; UNBEATEN NEWCOMER DAN DOWNES STEPS IN TO FACE HORODECKI THIS SUNDAY

WEC officials announced today that lightweight Ed Ratcliff has been forced to withdrawal from his fight with Canadian Chris Horodecki due to injury. Stepping in to replace Ratcliff this Sunday is unbeaten 24-year-old Danny Downes of Milwaukee, Wis.

WEC officials announced today that lightweight Ed Ratcliff has been forced to withdrawal from his fight with Canadian Chris Horodecki due to injury. Stepping in to replace Ratcliff this Sunday is unbeaten 24-year-old Danny Downes of Milwaukee, Wis.

The Duke Roufus-trained product is 6-0, with five wins coming by way of knockout. Known for his electric striking, Downes is also a cerebral fighter who owns degrees in International Affairs and German from Marquette University.

Downes vs. Horodecki will be featured on the televised portion of the WEC fight card emanating from Rexall Place in Edmonton, AB, Canada. VERSUS will televise the event live in the U.S. at 9pm ET/6pm PT. Canadian viewers can catch the card live on The Score at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

Sunday, September 28
2PM
NZST
Las Vegas, Nevada

Media

Recent
Undefeated lightweight Myles Jury reflects on his win at Fight Night Japan. You can catch all the action from Fury's 15th straight win, exclusively on UFC FIGHT PASS!
20/09/2014
Mark Hunt gets a chance to thank his fans and wish his daughter a happy birthday during his post-fight interview with Brian Stann at Fight Night Japan. Watch all the action all over again, only on UFC FIGHT PASS!
20/09/2014
Fight Night Japan headliner Mark Hunt joins Megan Olivi backstage to reflect on his knockout win against Roy Nelson. Rewatch all the action from Fight Night Japan on UFC FIGHT PASS!
20/09/2014
Hear from Yoshihiro Akiyama immediately after he rallied to victory against Richard Walsh at Fight Night Japan. You can watch the come-back victory on UFC FIGHT PASS!
20/09/2014