Article

RATCLIFF INJURED; UNBEATEN NEWCOMER DAN DOWNES STEPS IN TO FACE HORODECKI THIS SUNDAY

WEC officials announced today that lightweight Ed Ratcliff has been forced to withdrawal from his fight with Canadian Chris Horodecki due to injury. Stepping in to replace Ratcliff this Sunday is unbeaten 24-year-old Danny Downes of Milwaukee, Wis.

WEC officials announced today that lightweight Ed Ratcliff has been forced to withdrawal from his fight with Canadian Chris Horodecki due to injury. Stepping in to replace Ratcliff this Sunday is unbeaten 24-year-old Danny Downes of Milwaukee, Wis.

The Duke Roufus-trained product is 6-0, with five wins coming by way of knockout. Known for his electric striking, Downes is also a cerebral fighter who owns degrees in International Affairs and German from Marquette University.

Downes vs. Horodecki will be featured on the televised portion of the WEC fight card emanating from Rexall Place in Edmonton, AB, Canada. VERSUS will televise the event live in the U.S. at 9pm ET/6pm PT. Canadian viewers can catch the card live on The Score at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

Sunday, July 12
2PM
NZST
Las Vegas, Nevada

Media

Recent
This Saturday night all the talking comes to an end when Chad Mendes and Conor McGregor collide in The Octagon for the interim featherweight title at UFC 189 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
7/07/2015
Former UFC heavyweight champion Frank Mir gives you his fantasy facts for UFC 189 and also gives his lineup for the event in this edition of Fantasy Facts. Go to https://www.draftkings.com/gateway?s=467650401 to play.
7/07/2015
This weekend is packed with two epic UFC events on FOX Sports 1; the prelims for UFC 189 on Saturday at 7pm/4pm ETPT and the finale of The Ultimate Fighter: American Top team vs. Blackzilians on Sunday at 6pm/3pm ETPT on FS1.
7/07/2015
American Top Team and Blackzilians are tied at 300 points each heading into this year's finale. Don't miss episode 12 Wednesday night on FOX Sports 1 at 10pm/7pm ETPT.
7/07/2015